Four Tafties Win Division I Men’s Lacrosse National Championship

Pat ’19 and Chris Kavanagh ’21, and Jeffery ’21 and Thomas Ricciardelli ’22 helped the Notre Dame Fighting Irish capture their first lacrosse national championship in school history in May, defeating Duke 13–9.

Chris Kavanagh and Jeffery Ricciardelli both scored two goals on the way to the national championship victory. Chris’s first goal came in the first quarter, with the Irish leading 3–1 after one, and his second coming in the final seconds of the third quarter, giving the Irish a 9–7 lead heading in the fourth, while Jeffrey scored in the second to go up 5–1, and in the third to take a 7–5 lead.

Also along with the national championship victory, Pat Kavanagh set the all-time Notre Dame lacrosse program record for most points in a single season, finishing with 77 for the year.

Congratulations to these Tafties on such a huge accomplishment!

Read the full story here.