Girls' Varsity Basketball Earns 12th James R. Haddick Award
  • Sports

The Taft Girls' Varsity Basketball team was recently awarded the James R. Haddick Award for sportsmanship. It was the 12th time Taft has earned the award since its inception. The honor was announced during the Litchfield County referees banquet.

"Given how many private schools there are in Litchfield County, I think that reflects well on our school's culture," said Head Coach Jon Willson '82. "I think it's the class and respect with which our players compete that has allowed us to win this award in disproportionate numbers. If a similar award is given in other sports, I bet Taft has done well historically in those as well."

The James Haddick Award is given annually to the girl's private high school that shows the greatest sportsmanship during the year. Haddick officiated for 37 years in Pennsylvania and Connecticut; he was also a coach and athletic director at the Gunnery School. Haddick was also a member and past president of Board 7, part of the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials, for 25 years.

In photo, from left: Assistant Coach Johanna Valdez, Co-captain Elect Kayla Robinson '19, Co-captain Juliana Yamin '18 (with award), Co-captain Lauren Pelosi '18, Co-captain Elect Maggie O'Leary '19, and Head Coach Jon Willson '82.